Anastasia Tsioulcas http://iowapublicradio.org en A Rhythm That Has Waltzed Away With Hearts http://iowapublicradio.org/post/rhythm-has-waltzed-away-hearts <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Ek3eCbfqp0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCFEk6Y8TmM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zEfp_ZeiT0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YZpng2PL34</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjnhGwxQkFk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GWaNt9pPQM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZD_ZzubDxs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_X9Plz0zc4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4k1RjZ-SOLU</p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 14:08:12 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 42463 at http://iowapublicradio.org A Rhythm That Has Waltzed Away With Hearts Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 http://iowapublicradio.org/post/rafael-fruhbeck-de-burgos-versatile-spanish-conductor-dies-80 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMALVK_I8hE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlZ3FmBzbo4</p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 23:51:19 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 42323 at http://iowapublicradio.org Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music http://iowapublicradio.org/post/what-weeks-debate-have-shown-us-about-women-classical-music An astonishing conversation has emerged in the weeks since Irish mezzo-soprano Tara Erraught began her run as Octavian at the Glyndebourne Festival in England. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 01:08:56 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 41673 at http://iowapublicradio.org What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music Read Joyce DiDonato's Inspiring Juilliard Commencement Speech http://iowapublicradio.org/post/read-joyce-didonatos-inspiring-juilliard-commencement-speech Star mezzo-soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16004057/joyce-didonato" target="_blank">Joyce DiDonato</a> gave the 2014 commencement address at Juilliard Friday — and it's a memorable one, both for her words and by DiDonato's own example as someone whose own career began under low heat.<p>DiDonato has <a href="http://www.joycedidonato.com/2014/05/27/the-juilliard-schools-109th-commencement-speech-joyce-didonato/" target="_blank">posted</a> the text of her speech on her own website, and it's well worth 10 minutes of your time, whether you're an aspiring artist or need a gentle reminder Thu, 29 May 2014 01:00:31 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 41382 at http://iowapublicradio.org Read Joyce DiDonato's Inspiring Juilliard Commencement Speech Does Accepting A Rose Mean Losing A Career? http://iowapublicradio.org/post/does-accepting-rose-mean-losing-career <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEWAHLK6cqM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d9QQjrVT3PE</p> Thu, 22 May 2014 03:49:28 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 41024 at http://iowapublicradio.org Does Accepting A Rose Mean Losing A Career? In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women http://iowapublicradio.org/post/2014-classical-world-still-cant-stop-fat-shaming-women <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPquOVVEwws</p> Tue, 20 May 2014 20:39:36 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 40940 at http://iowapublicradio.org In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found http://iowapublicradio.org/post/midspring-surprise-lost-mendelssohn-song-found <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-tb_m8SD04</p> Tue, 06 May 2014 15:56:24 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 40228 at http://iowapublicradio.org Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found Classical Quartet Gets All Twisted http://iowapublicradio.org/post/classical-quartet-gets-all-twisted <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKezUd_xw20</p> Sat, 19 Apr 2014 03:40:21 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 39366 at http://iowapublicradio.org Classical Quartet Gets All Twisted How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) http://iowapublicradio.org/post/how-do-you-sweep-ivy-league-practice-viola-really By now, you may have <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/04/01/297879597/new-york-student-is-accepted-to-all-8-ivy-league-schools" target="_blank">heard</a> about Kwasi Enin, the impressive young man from Long Island who has been accepted into the classes of 2018 at Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, the University of Pennsylvania, Yale (all eight Ivy League universities) as well as Duke and three campuses of the State University of New York. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 00:20:02 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 38709 at http://iowapublicradio.org How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) Kronos Quartet At 40: Songs We Love http://iowapublicradio.org/post/kronos-quartet-40-songs-we-love <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1E4Bjt_zVJc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzvWiG5Lpzc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ANkFMjEEnJ4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVA0oX-bqog</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wnOJFuMKDE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUlMyYuEyXw</p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 22:14:08 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas & Alex Ambrose 38116 at http://iowapublicradio.org Kronos Quartet At 40: Songs We Love In The First Violins — At Least For One Night http://iowapublicradio.org/post/first-violins-least-one-night <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tm5BoFihAJw</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 15:12:06 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 37985 at http://iowapublicradio.org In The First Violins — At Least For One Night We Love Him For More Than Twizzles: Charlie White Plays Violin, Too http://iowapublicradio.org/post/we-love-him-more-twizzles-charlie-white-plays-violin-too It's no secret that <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/theedge/2014/02/17/278549740/americans-davis-and-white-win-gold-in-ice-dancing" target="_blank">gold-winning</a> American ice dancers Meryl Davis and Charlie White have become favorite faces in Sochi. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 21:48:07 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 36505 at http://iowapublicradio.org We Love Him For More Than Twizzles: Charlie White Plays Violin, Too 4 Ways To Hear More In Music http://iowapublicradio.org/post/4-ways-hear-more-music <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P2swfLur5WQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCFEk6Y8TmM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Mn1ibFdXDU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KK23BhEQVyU</p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 01:17:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 35607 at http://iowapublicradio.org Watch Musicians Elevate A Trip To A Big-Box Store http://iowapublicradio.org/post/watch-musicians-elevate-trip-big-box-store <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86ukcgSnME0</p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 22:51:30 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 35469 at http://iowapublicradio.org Watch Musicians Elevate A Trip To A Big-Box Store Tracing The Career Of Claudio Abbado, A Consummate Conductor http://iowapublicradio.org/post/tracing-career-claudio-abbado-consummate-conductor <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmozblR_9Pk</p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 22:43:23 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 35154 at http://iowapublicradio.org Tracing The Career Of Claudio Abbado, A Consummate Conductor Guess Who's Singing The National Anthem At The Super Bowl? http://iowapublicradio.org/post/guess-whos-singing-national-anthem-super-bowl She's probably not among your first, or second, or 10th, or 20th-round guesses, but the NFL <a href="http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap2000000316164/article/renee-fleming-to-sing-national-anthem-at-super-bowl-xlviii" target="_blank">just announced</a> that American soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15656760/renee-fleming" target="_blank">Renee Fleming</a> will sing the national anthem at Super Bowl XLVIII on Feb. 2.<p>Fleming is the first-ever opera singer to be given the honor. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 35135 at http://iowapublicradio.org Guess Who's Singing The National Anthem At The Super Bowl? Act Like You Know: Benjamin Britten http://iowapublicradio.org/post/act-you-know-benjamin-britten British composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/91351892/benjamin-britten" target="_blank">Benjamin Britten</a> was born 100 years ago this Friday, Nov. 22. Before you ask "Benja-who?" consider this: Did you see Wes Anderson's film <em>Moonrise Kingdom</em> last summer, or Pedro Almodovar's <em>Talk to Her</em> back a decade or so ago? (Well, maybe you have to be an art-house denizen for those. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 21:12:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 32392 at http://iowapublicradio.org Act Like You Know: Benjamin Britten Reunited After 50 Years, An Algerian Buena Vista Social Club Makes Its U.S. Debut http://iowapublicradio.org/post/reunited-after-50-years-algerian-buena-vista-social-club-makes-its-us-debut <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RVN1ZvHZCk</p> Thu, 08 Aug 2013 06:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 27110 at http://iowapublicradio.org Reunited After 50 Years, An Algerian Buena Vista Social Club Makes Its U.S. Debut