Orchestra Iowa Performs Schumann, Prokofiev, and Berlioz in "Symphonie Fantastique" Broadcast

Feb 3, 2015

This week's Symphonies of Iowa broadcast features Orchestra Iowa’s “Symphonie Fantastique” concert. The concert opens with Schumann’s Manfred Overture, the incidental music to the poem Manfred by Lord Byron. 

Canadian pianist Winston Choi joins Orchestra Iowa for a performance of Prokofiev's "Piano Concerto No. 2"
Credit Chad Johnston

Canadian pianist Winston Choi then joins Orchestra Iowa for Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No.2, one of the most technically challenging concertos in the standard piano repertoire. The concert concludes with Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique, a programmatic and revolutionary work telling the story of an imaginative artist through five distinct scenes.


Tim Hankewich, conductor

Winston Choi, Piano

SCHUMANN                      Manfred Overture

PROKOFIEV                        Piano Concerto No. 2

BERLIOZ                               Symphonie Fantastique