Joshua Roman Joins Orchestra Iowa for Concert of Classics

Mar 17, 2015

Orchestra Iowa’s “Old World Wonders” concert opens with Ravel’s Le Tombeau de Couperin. Originally written as a suite for piano, Ravel later orchestrated Nos. 1, 3, 5, and 4 to create his symphonic version. Internationally acclaimed cellist Joshua Roman joins the orchestra for Schumann’s lyrical and enigmatic Cello Concerto

Internationally acclaimed cellist, Joshua Roman.
Credit Jeremy Sawatzky

Roman won the principal cello chair with the Seattle Symphony at age 22 and held it for two years before embarking as a soloist with orchestras around the world. The concert closes with Dvořák’s Sixth Symphony, written in 1880 for the Vienna Philharmonic and its conductor, Hans Richter.


Tim Hankewich, conductor

Joshua Roman, cello

RAVEL                                   Le Tombeau de Couperin

SCHUMANN                      Cello Concerto

DVOŘÁK                            Symphony No. 6