2014 Primary Elections: The First District

May 14, 2014

Candidates in the First District Primary. (Top left to right) Anesa Kajtazovic (D), Dave O'Brien (D), Gail Boliver (R), Swati Dandekar (D). (Bottom left to right) Pat Murphy (D), Steve Rathje (R), Monica Vernon (D), Rod Blum (R)
Credit Candidate facebook profile photos

More than a year ago, the 2014 mid-term election looked like a sleepy one in Iowa. But a U.S. Senate seat and two congressional districts are up for grabs without incumbents. With the primary election a little more than two weeks away, IPR's Clay Masters takes a look at the open races. Iowa's first congressional district is in northeast Iowa and includes the cities of Cedar Rapids and Waterloo. Democratic Congressman Bruce Braley is leaving his seat to run for Tom Harkin’s U.S. Senate seat. IPR's Clay Masters talks with Christinia Crippes, a political reporter at the Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier, who's been covering the race.