Des Moines Register http://iowapublicradio.org en Randy Brubaker and the Iowa Visual History Center http://iowapublicradio.org/post/randy-brubaker-and-iowa-visual-history-center <p></p> Mon, 12 May 2014 11:48:45 +0000 Clay Masters & Sarah Boden 40493 at http://iowapublicradio.org Randy Brubaker and the Iowa Visual History Center News Buzz: Obamacare Fix and Cholesterol Guidelines http://iowapublicradio.org/post/news-buzz-obamacare-fix-and-cholesterol-guidelines <p>While support to reduce prison sentences has been growing, Iowa State University sociologist <a href="http://www.soc.iastate.edu/staff/delisi.html">Matt DeLisi</a> <a href="http://www.news.iastate.edu/news/2013/11/12/delisioffenderreduction">recently testified before the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee</a> that for certain offenders this would be a mistake.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 15 Nov 2013 19:32:31 +0000 Ben Kieffer & Sarah Boden 32197 at http://iowapublicradio.org News Buzz: Obamacare Fix and Cholesterol Guidelines For Sale: Historic Register Building http://iowapublicradio.org/post/sale-historic-register-building <p>One of&nbsp;Iowa's most strategic pieces of of real estate is up for sale; The Des Moines Register is preparing to vacate its long time headquarters next month. Now, nearly a hundred years of history is making news again. We take a tour and listen to old recordings.</p> Fri, 17 May 2013 10:30:00 +0000 Rick Fredericksen 20808 at http://iowapublicradio.org For Sale: Historic Register Building The Readers' Watchdog and Weird Iowa News http://iowapublicradio.org/post/readers-watchdog-and-weird-iowa-news <p><span class="userContent">People who have problems they can’t solve often turn to Lee Rood. She has written The Readers’ Watchdog column for the Des Moines Register for over the past year. Charity Nebbe talks&nbsp; with her about the problems she’s helped so<span class="text_exposed_show">lve and the lessons she’s learned.<br>Then,&nbsp; Brian Morelli, associate regional editor for Iowa Patch, shares the weird Iowa news he’s collected. </span></span></p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jan 2013 17:27:22 +0000 Charity Nebbe 13376 at http://iowapublicradio.org The Readers' Watchdog and Weird Iowa News Des Moines Register Columnist Rekha Basu http://iowapublicradio.org/post/des-moines-register-columnist-rekha-basu <p><span class="userContent">Des Moines Register columnist Rekha Basu </span>has written numerous columns over the years about the rights of women, their daily lives, and the lives of those whose stories often go unheard. Charity Nebbe talks with Basu about her new book "Finding Her Voice,"&nbsp; which is a collection of columns about the lives of women in the Midwest.</p><p></p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 17:30:39 +0000 Charity Nebbe 11618 at http://iowapublicradio.org Des Moines Register Columnist Rekha Basu Simple French Food http://iowapublicradio.org/post/simple-french-food <p>When you think of French food, the word simple probably does not come to mind. Wini Moranville, restaurant reviewer for the Des Moines Register, will introduce us to simple French home cooking. Her new cookbook is the Bonne Femme cookbook&hellip;simple splendid food that French women cook every day. Later, we&rsquo;ll hear from the authors of Farmstead Chef, a book full recipes that rely on locally grown ingredients.</p><p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 27 Jun 2012 14:32:32 +0000 Charity Nebbe 3831 at http://iowapublicradio.org Simple French Food