harvest http://iowapublicradio.org en Monster Machinery http://iowapublicradio.org/post/monster-machinery <p>The Iowa Department of Transportation is reporting 79 crashes and 5 fatalities involving farm equipment in 2013. Safety officials say drivers need to be alert especially at dusk and dawn when these huge machines tend to be more numerous. They also say farmers need to share responsibility by making sure motorists know when they&#39;re about to turn or make a sudden stop. Farmers are asked not to wave motorists by them, but instead pull off to the side of the road if possible.</p> Thu, 26 Sep 2013 23:48:47 +0000 Pat Blank 29724 at http://iowapublicradio.org Monster Machinery Storing Your Harvest http://iowapublicradio.org/post/storing-your-harvest <p>If things went well in your vegetable garden this year you may find yourself elbow deep in home grown tomatoes.&nbsp; Or maybe you have a tree that is loaded with apples or plums.&nbsp; Host Charity Nebbe, talks with Horticulturists Linda Naeve and Richard Jauron about harvesting and storing your garden bounty.</p><p></p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 21:27:45 +0000 Katherine Perkins & Charity Nebbe 28698 at http://iowapublicradio.org Storing Your Harvest Cover Crops Use Expanding http://iowapublicradio.org/post/cover-crops-use-expanding <p></p><p>While many farmers were bringing in this year’s harvest, they also were planting. &nbsp;Cover crops—like oats and winter rye—are becoming more popular, despite the time and expense involved in growing green fields that won’t ever make money—directly.&nbsp; Together with Harvest Public Media, Iowa Public Radio’s Amy Mayer explains why.</p> Fri, 12 Oct 2012 19:18:59 +0000 Amy Mayer 9318 at http://iowapublicradio.org Cover Crops Use Expanding Drought Resistant Corn Yields http://iowapublicradio.org/post/drought-resistant-corn-yields <p></p><p>After the dry summer, this harvest offers a good look at what drought resistant corn can do. In conjunction with Harvest Public Media, Iowa Public Radio’s Amy Mayer reports the big companies may soon be touting their results, but farmers may not rush to plant drought resistant seed next year.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 04 Oct 2012 13:30:00 +0000 Amy Mayer 8897 at http://iowapublicradio.org Drought Resistant Corn Yields Drought Means Mixed Harvest for Pumpkin Growers http://iowapublicradio.org/post/drought-means-mixed-harvest-pumpkin-growers <p>With Halloween approaching, attention is turning to pumpkins. But not all pumpkin fields are filled with orange.</p> Mon, 01 Oct 2012 12:47:58 +0000 Dean Borg 8755 at http://iowapublicradio.org Drought Means Mixed Harvest for Pumpkin Growers Coalescing around the Farm Bill http://iowapublicradio.org/post/coalescing-around-farm-bill <p>The current farm bill expires at the end of September and lawmakers won’t have a new one passed, thanks largely to election-year politics. Despite the partisan bickering in Washington, many in farm country are working together to keep their concerns on the front burner.</p> Tue, 25 Sep 2012 18:47:12 +0000 Amy Mayer 8503 at http://iowapublicradio.org Coalescing around the Farm Bill Dry Summer Means Real-Life Test for Drought-Resistant Corn http://iowapublicradio.org/post/dry-summer-means-real-life-test-drought-resistant-corn <p>One of Iowa’s largest agribusiness companies has a huge investment riding on this year’s prolonged drought. A new hybrid seed corn developed by DuPont Pioneer is being touted for its ability to improve yields under the driest conditions.</p> Fri, 31 Aug 2012 10:30:00 +0000 Rick Fredericksen 7195 at http://iowapublicradio.org Dry Summer Means Real-Life Test for Drought-Resistant Corn Early Planting of Lots of Acres Could Mean Record Corn Crop http://iowapublicradio.org/post/early-planting-lots-acres-could-mean-record-corn-crop <p>Across the Corn Belt, farmers are hoping this fall’s harvest could be one for the record books. With planting season already off to a roaring start, farmers say they’re putting in more acres of corn than they have since the Great Depression.</p> Thu, 03 May 2012 13:17:14 +0000 Sarah McCammon 933 at http://iowapublicradio.org Early Planting of Lots of Acres Could Mean Record Corn Crop