media http://iowapublicradio.org en Is There Still a Place for Women's Magazines? http://iowapublicradio.org/post/there-still-place-womens-magazines <p>After a 130 year run, <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2014/04/25/business/media/ladies-home-journal-to-become-a-quarterly.html?_r=0" target="_blank">Ladies Home Journal is drastically reducing its publication schedule </a>and ending its subscription service, another in a long line of women’s magazines to try and reinvent itself or discontinue publication in the digital age. Tue, 13 May 2014 16:59:44 +0000 Charity Nebbe & Lindsey Moon 40561 at http://iowapublicradio.org Is There Still a Place for Women's Magazines? Mike Pace: Media Personality and Poet http://iowapublicradio.org/post/mike-pace-media-personality-and-poet <p>Mike Pace is probably best known as the former emcee for the Powerball drawings. &nbsp;He also has been the host of the Iowa Realty Sunday Home Show in central Iowa, and he has a weekly radio show on KRNT. &nbsp;Join host Charity Nebbe for a talk with Mike Pace about his new collection of poetry, <em>Dreams and Detours: Reflecting on the Souvenirs of a Lifetime</em>.</p><p></p> Mon, 28 Oct 2013 16:31:37 +0000 Charity Nebbe & Dennis Reese 31233 at http://iowapublicradio.org Mike Pace: Media Personality and Poet Raising Girls http://iowapublicradio.org/post/raising-girls <p>From Cinderella to Miley Cyrus our girls grow up in an environment rich in images of femininity.&nbsp; Host Charity Nebbe gets insight into the challenges and dangers girls face as they grow and how the media influences their development.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 10 Oct 2013 17:46:53 +0000 Charity Nebbe & Sarah Boden 30401 at http://iowapublicradio.org Raising Girls Iowa Public Radio Names Three Executive Director Finalists http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowa-public-radio-names-three-executive-director-finalists <p></p><p>Iowa Public Radio has named three finalists for its executive director position.</p><p>According to a press release, the finalists are:</p><p>Debra J. Fraser, former Chief Operating Officer and Station Manager at Houston Public Media; Myrna Johnson, Executive Director for the Boston Schoolyard Initiative; and William R. Reed, a former private-sector media executive and Midwest-based marketing consultant.</p> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 13:39:17 +0000 Sarah McCammon 29393 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa Public Radio Names Three Executive Director Finalists Science Literacy in Iowa http://iowapublicradio.org/post/science-literacy-iowa <p>Does drinking coffee prevent dementia? Will diet soda give you cancer?&nbsp; Science and health reporting is often misleading and confusing. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 19:51:06 +0000 Ben Kieffer & Sarah Boden 27903 at http://iowapublicradio.org Science Literacy in Iowa For Sale: Historic Register Building http://iowapublicradio.org/post/sale-historic-register-building <p>One of&nbsp;Iowa's most strategic pieces of of real estate is up for sale; The Des Moines Register is preparing to vacate its long time headquarters next month. Now, nearly a hundred years of history is making news again. We take a tour and listen to old recordings.</p> Fri, 17 May 2013 10:30:00 +0000 Rick Fredericksen 20808 at http://iowapublicradio.org For Sale: Historic Register Building National Security Analyst Brian Katulis on the Middle East http://iowapublicradio.org/post/national-security-analyst-brian-katulis-middle-east <p><span class="userContent">More than 60,000 US troops are still in Afghanistan. What hurdles does the US face as that international military operation winds down? Today on "River to River" National Security Analyst Brian Katulis from the Center for American Progress will talk about US withdraw from Afghanistan.&nbsp; He'll also comment on the status of Iraq</span>, ten years after the start of the Iraq War.</p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 18:27:45 +0000 Ben Kieffer 18283 at http://iowapublicradio.org National Security Analyst Brian Katulis on the Middle East Educational Media For Kids: Much More Than Just Your A-B-Cs http://iowapublicradio.org/post/educational-media-kids-much-more-just-your-b-cs <p>We've all heard that it's best to limit the amount of screen time our kids get each day, but screens are getting harder an harder to avoid. Today on Talk of Iowa, we talk about educational media. We find out how to make the most of the screen time our kids do get and explore some of the surprising pitfalls we can find along the way.</p><p></p> Thu, 07 Mar 2013 23:16:19 +0000 Charity Nebbe 17386 at http://iowapublicradio.org Educational Media For Kids: Much More Than Just Your A-B-Cs Partisan Media In A Presidential Election http://iowapublicradio.org/post/partisan-media-presidential-election <p><span style="LINE-HEIGHT: 115%; FONT-FAMILY: 'Calibri','sans-serif'; FONT-SIZE: 10pt; mso-fareast-font-family: Calibri; mso-fareast-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-ansi-language: EN-US; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA">In recent years, partisan publications and blogs are becoming more of a resource for voters. Host Ben Kieffer explores the impact niche political news organizations have on elections, specifically with&nbsp;this year’s presidential election. Mon, 24 Sep 2012 18:14:52 +0000 Ben Kieffer 8421 at http://iowapublicradio.org Partisan Media In A Presidential Election