Alex Heuer http://iowapublicradio.org en Saving a Cedar Rapids Cultural Icon http://iowapublicradio.org/post/saving-cedar-rapids-cultural-icon Mon, 24 Oct 2011 17:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 25696 at http://iowapublicradio.org Texas Governor Rick Perry in Iowa http://iowapublicradio.org/post/texas-governor-rick-perry-iowa Sat, 08 Oct 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 25655 at http://iowapublicradio.org New Higher Ed. Opportunities in the Quad Cities http://iowapublicradio.org/post/new-higher-ed-opportunities-quad-cities Thu, 19 May 2011 09:30:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 25136 at http://iowapublicradio.org Medal of Honor Recipient Army Staff Sergeant Sal Giunta http://iowapublicradio.org/post/medal-honor-recipient-army-staff-sergeant-sal-giunta <p></p> Mon, 15 Nov 2010 05:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 24795 at http://iowapublicradio.org Re-branding the "Technology Corridor" http://iowapublicradio.org/post/re-branding-technology-corridor <p>The greater Cedar Rapids and Iowa City region is often considered a single area of Iowa. The region has tried to give itself a name, branding itself "The Technology Corridor." That name has met mixed success, and now business and economic development leaders are considering changing the brand.</p><p></p> Fri, 17 Sep 2010 04:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 24668 at http://iowapublicradio.org Magnificent Grant Wood Stained Glass Window Rededication in Cedar Rapids http://iowapublicradio.org/post/magnificent-grant-wood-stained-glass-window-rededication-cedar-rapids <p>A different type of Independence Day celebration will take place this weekend in Cedar Rapids. Community leaders and residents will gather for the rededication of a magnificent stained glass window which honors American veterans. Iowa Public Radio's Alex Heuer has the story of the only known stained glass window designed by Iowa artist Grant Wood.</p><p></p> Fri, 02 Jul 2010 04:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16870 at http://iowapublicradio.org Cedar Rapids: Two Years After the Flood http://iowapublicradio.org/post/cedar-rapids-two-years-after-flood <p>Two years ago at this time communities across Iowa were underwater. The floods of 2008 impacted dozens of neighborhoods but those in Cedar Rapids were among the hardest hit. Iowa Public Radio&#39;s Kate Wells and Alex Heuer report on signs of progress and the challenges still facing the community.</p><p></p> Mon, 14 Jun 2010 04:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer & Kate Wells 16826 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa researchers working on Batten Disease http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowa-researchers-working-batten-disease <p>By the end of the year researchers at the University of Iowa will likely be one step closer to treating a very rare disorder called Batten Disease. It&#39;s an inherited disease that affects children. There&#39;s no cure and it&#39;s always fatal. Encouraging studies are bringing hope to families throughout the country and, in particular, to a family in Waterloo.</p><p></p> Wed, 02 Jun 2010 04:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16789 at http://iowapublicradio.org IBM's Impact in Dubuque http://iowapublicradio.org/post/ibms-impact-dubuque <p>By the end of the year, IBM will employ about 1,300 people in Dubuque. Local leaders are calling the technology giant&#39;s move to the city last August a resurgence and the community has become a testing ground for business expansion within the United States.</p><p></p> Tue, 25 May 2010 04:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16777 at http://iowapublicradio.org World Premier of Play about Herbert and Lou Hoover during the Boxer Rebellion http://iowapublicradio.org/post/world-premier-play-about-herbert-and-lou-hoover-during-boxer-rebellion <p>On Friday night in Cedar Rapids students at Kirkwood Community College will perform the world premier of a play about the only U.S. President to come from Iowa. The play is about Herbert Hoover&rsquo;s early adult life as a mining engineer in China. At the turn of the 20th century the West Branch native and his newlywed wife, Lou, were trapped in the country during the Boxer Rebellion.</p><p></p> Fri, 09 Apr 2010 04:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16670 at http://iowapublicradio.org President Obama in Iowa City http://iowapublicradio.org/post/president-obama-iowa-city <p>President Barack Obama rallied a crowd of supporters at the University of Iowa&rsquo;s Field House on Thursday to build support for the new health care law. Mr. Obama returned to the site he called the birthplace of the grassroots movement to overhaul the nation&rsquo;s health care system.</p><p></p> Fri, 26 Mar 2010 04:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16637 at http://iowapublicradio.org The Census in Iowa's Second Largest County http://iowapublicradio.org/post/census-iowas-second-largest-county <p>Census forms are arriving in millions of mailboxes throughout the country. The results of the government&rsquo;s once a decade population count are especially important for Linn County. The state&rsquo;s second largest county is on the verge of officially reaching a population level that would put it in a special category for receiving increased federal dollars. Community leaders are uncertain of how the flood will affect the count.</p><p></p> Thu, 18 Mar 2010 04:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16618 at http://iowapublicradio.org Theatre Cedar Rapids Back Downtown http://iowapublicradio.org/post/theatre-cedar-rapids-back-downtown Fri, 26 Feb 2010 05:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16439 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa Colleges Say "NO" to Sand Volleyball http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowa-colleges-say-no-sand-volleyball Wed, 10 Feb 2010 05:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16397 at http://iowapublicradio.org Flood Recovery in Oakville http://iowapublicradio.org/post/flood-recovery-oakville Thu, 14 Jan 2010 05:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16336 at http://iowapublicradio.org Farmstead Foods Continues to Burn in Cedar Rapids http://iowapublicradio.org/post/farmstead-foods-continues-burn-cedar-rapids Fri, 18 Dec 2009 05:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16287 at http://iowapublicradio.org New Debate Over Jackson Pollock's "Mural" http://iowapublicradio.org/post/new-debate-over-jackson-pollocks-mural Tue, 08 Dec 2009 05:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16266 at http://iowapublicradio.org Former Lawmaker Ron Corbett Elected Cedar Rapids Mayor http://iowapublicradio.org/post/former-lawmaker-ron-corbett-elected-cedar-rapids-mayor Wed, 04 Nov 2009 05:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16202 at http://iowapublicradio.org Paramedic Students Learning the Profession http://iowapublicradio.org/post/paramedic-students-learning-profession Sun, 01 Nov 2009 04:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16197 at http://iowapublicradio.org Recovering in Cedar Rapids, Block by Block http://iowapublicradio.org/post/recovering-cedar-rapids-block-block Wed, 28 Oct 2009 04:00:00 +0000 Alex Heuer 16185 at http://iowapublicradio.org