Kathleen Masterson http://iowapublicradio.org en Two Sides Prepare For Vote On Genetically Modified Labeling In Calif. http://iowapublicradio.org/post/two-sides-prepare-vote-genetically-modified-labeling-calif This November, voters in California will decide whether the state should require labels on foods with genetically engineered ingredients. If the initiative, known as Proposition 37, passes, manufacturers would have to say somewhere on the front or the back of the food's packaging if the product contains or may contain genetically engineered ingredients. <br /> Thu, 30 Aug 2012 22:35:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 7225 at http://iowapublicradio.org Two Sides Prepare For Vote On Genetically Modified Labeling In Calif. California Dairy Farmers Split Over Milk Payments In Farm Bill http://iowapublicradio.org/post/california-dairy-farmers-split-over-milk-payments-farm-bill California is known as the land of fruits and nuts, but it also happens to be the country's <a href="http://www.californiadairypressroom.com/Press_Kit/Dairy_Industry_Facts">largest</a> milk-producing state. Thu, 21 Jun 2012 18:14:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 3560 at http://iowapublicradio.org California Dairy Farmers Split Over Milk Payments In Farm Bill Dairies push for new government support programs http://iowapublicradio.org/post/dairies-push-new-government-support-programs Tue, 27 Mar 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 26164 at http://iowapublicradio.org 'Ag gag' law may infringe on right to speech http://iowapublicradio.org/post/ag-gag-law-may-infringe-right-speech Mon, 12 Mar 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 26094 at http://iowapublicradio.org Unlike Midwest, California regulations cause more climate change woes http://iowapublicradio.org/post/unlike-midwest-california-regulations-cause-more-climate-change-woes Wed, 07 Mar 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 26051 at http://iowapublicradio.org Unlike Midwest, California regulations cause more climate change woes http://iowapublicradio.org/post/unlike-midwest-california-regulations-cause-more-climate-change-woes-0 Wed, 07 Mar 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 26239 at http://iowapublicradio.org Farmers buy grain bins to play commodities market http://iowapublicradio.org/post/farmers-buy-grain-bins-play-commodities-market Mon, 06 Feb 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25975 at http://iowapublicradio.org Farmers buy grain bins to play commodities market http://iowapublicradio.org/post/farmers-buy-grain-bins-play-commodities-market-0 Mon, 06 Feb 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 26087 at http://iowapublicradio.org Livestock munching on food waste http://iowapublicradio.org/post/livestock-munching-food-waste Thu, 02 Feb 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25954 at http://iowapublicradio.org Livestock munching on food waste http://iowapublicradio.org/post/livestock-munching-food-waste-0 Thu, 02 Feb 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 26056 at http://iowapublicradio.org Advocates CampaignTo Reduce Antibiotics In Livestock Feed http://iowapublicradio.org/post/advocates-campaignto-reduce-antibiotics-livestock-feed Thu, 19 Jan 2012 10:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25916 at http://iowapublicradio.org Ag takes a back seat on campaign trail http://iowapublicradio.org/post/ag-takes-back-seat-campaign-trail Mon, 19 Dec 2011 05:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25863 at http://iowapublicradio.org Local Poultry Producers http://iowapublicradio.org/post/local-poultry-producers Wed, 07 Dec 2011 05:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25812 at http://iowapublicradio.org Study: Organic Crops Bring in More Cash http://iowapublicradio.org/post/study-organic-crops-bring-more-cash Fri, 25 Nov 2011 05:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25778 at http://iowapublicradio.org What does "natural" meat really mean? http://iowapublicradio.org/post/what-does-natural-meat-really-mean Mon, 14 Nov 2011 05:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25748 at http://iowapublicradio.org Crop insurance: a pricey safety net for farmers http://iowapublicradio.org/post/crop-insurance-pricey-safety-net-farmers Wed, 02 Nov 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25715 at http://iowapublicradio.org Is Corn the New Gold? http://iowapublicradio.org/post/corn-new-gold Mon, 22 Aug 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25453 at http://iowapublicradio.org 4H reaches new generation with robot competition http://iowapublicradio.org/post/4h-reaches-new-generation-robot-competition Fri, 19 Aug 2011 09:30:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25449 at http://iowapublicradio.org Farmland Owners Give Up Fighting Flood Waters http://iowapublicradio.org/post/farmland-owners-give-fighting-flood-waters-0 Wed, 10 Aug 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25592 at http://iowapublicradio.org Farmland Owners Give Up Fighting Flood Waters http://iowapublicradio.org/post/farmland-owners-give-fighting-flood-waters Wed, 10 Aug 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25389 at http://iowapublicradio.org Local Foods Industry Ripe For A Middleman http://iowapublicradio.org/post/local-foods-industry-ripe-middleman Mon, 18 Jul 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25312 at http://iowapublicradio.org Local Foods Industry Ripe For A Middleman http://iowapublicradio.org/post/local-foods-industry-ripe-middleman-0 Mon, 18 Jul 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25438 at http://iowapublicradio.org 'Food Miles' Don't Have Big Environmental Impact http://iowapublicradio.org/post/food-miles-dont-have-big-environmental-impact Mon, 11 Jul 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25292 at http://iowapublicradio.org 'Food Miles' Don't Have Big Environmental Impact http://iowapublicradio.org/post/food-miles-dont-have-big-environmental-impact-0 Mon, 11 Jul 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25403 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa Grain Company Digs Into 'Frack' Sand http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowa-grain-company-digs-frack-sand Thu, 09 Jun 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25209 at http://iowapublicradio.org Flying Over Iowa's Farms http://iowapublicradio.org/post/flying-over-iowas-farms Thu, 02 Jun 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25189 at http://iowapublicradio.org Climate Change Brings New Farming Challenges http://iowapublicradio.org/post/climate-change-brings-new-farming-challenges Tue, 17 May 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25135 at http://iowapublicradio.org Weather Woes Could Send Food Prices Up http://iowapublicradio.org/post/weather-woes-could-send-food-prices Fri, 06 May 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25109 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa Soil Erosion Threatens Ag Sustainability http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowa-soil-erosion-threatens-ag-sustainability Agriculture is Iowa's biggest industry -- and a new report suggests it may be facing a serious threat from an-age old problem: soil erosion. The Environmental Working Group report released Wednesday finds that finds that some parts of Iowa are losing soil at 10 times the rate that federal statistics suggest. Soil erosion not only causes water pollution, but the depletion of fertile topsoil can make a big dent crop yields. Wed, 13 Apr 2011 09:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 13196 at http://iowapublicradio.org State Law Would Ban Secret Photos of Farm Animals http://iowapublicradio.org/post/state-law-would-ban-secret-photos-farm-animals Mon, 11 Apr 2011 04:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 25076 at http://iowapublicradio.org