taxes http://iowapublicradio.org en Tax Hike for Environment Advances http://iowapublicradio.org/post/tax-hike-environment-advances <p>Democrats in the Iowa Senate &nbsp;got the ball rolling on a bill that’s a dream come true for&nbsp; environmentalists&nbsp; and natural resource advocates.&nbsp;&nbsp; The bill raises the state&nbsp; sales tax for a natural resources trust fund that voters approved by constitutional amendment two years ago. &nbsp;Backers added a tax <u>cut</u>​&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">to the bill to soften the blow. &nbsp; &nbsp;</span></p><p></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 12:23:15 +0000 Joyce Russell 39200 at http://iowapublicradio.org Tax Hike for Environment Advances Jobs Bill Advances at Statehouse http://iowapublicradio.org/post/jobs-bill-advances-statehouse <p>It looks like smooth sailing for a bill at the statehouse to let Iowa’s&nbsp; job creation experts hand out more tax credits to potential employers.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Officials say the current cap on credits isn’t enough to meet the demand, as more companies are looking to expand.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; But not everyone agrees with&nbsp; a plan to make sure the employers&nbsp; come through with the jobs they promise.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 29 Mar 2013 11:11:52 +0000 Joyce Russell 18448 at http://iowapublicradio.org Jobs Bill Advances at Statehouse Lawmakers Dispute Tax Return Question http://iowapublicradio.org/post/lawmakers-dispute-tax-return-question <p>As Iowans are&nbsp; filing their state income tax returns, there’s a controversy at the statehouse over one of the questions on the tax form. &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; The question&nbsp; aims to locate working Iowans who may be eligible for subsidized health insurance for their children.&nbsp;&nbsp; Some&nbsp; Republicans in the Iowa House say that&nbsp; goes beyond what the government needs to know when you file your taxes.</p><p></p> Wed, 13 Mar 2013 11:51:40 +0000 Joyce Russell 17604 at http://iowapublicradio.org Lawmakers Dispute Tax Return Question Property Tax Debate http://iowapublicradio.org/post/property-tax-debate <p>It was another day of partisan debate at the statehouse.&nbsp; Advocates with &nbsp;competing plans for tax cuts for business and industry appear to be dug in on their positions. &nbsp;That&rsquo;s throwing into question whether the legislature will meet its goal of lowering commercial property taxes to attract more jobs to the state.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 09 May 2012 13:02:59 +0000 Joyce Russell 1246 at http://iowapublicradio.org Property Tax Debate Legislative Preview 5/7/12 http://iowapublicradio.org/post/legislative-preview-5712 <p>IPR Statehouse Correspondent Joyce Russell joins Sarah McCammon for a look at what&#39;s happening in the Iowa Legislature, as lawmakers begin their third week of overtime.</p> Mon, 07 May 2012 12:41:18 +0000 Sarah McCammon & Joyce Russell 1110 at http://iowapublicradio.org Legislative Preview 5/7/12 Legislative Monday: Gas Tax Increase http://iowapublicradio.org/post/legislative-monday-gas-tax-increase <p>In October, the Governor&#39;s Transportation 2020 Citizen Advisory Commission recommended an eight to ten cents per gallon gas tax increase to generate funding for Iowa&#39;s roads and infrastructure. Mon, 30 Jan 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Joyce Russell 174 at http://iowapublicradio.org