Julie Englander http://iowapublicradio.org en Iowa's globally significant bird area http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowas-globally-significant-bird-area <p></p><p>Effigy Mounds-Yellow River Forest in northeast Iowa’s Allamakee County is designated as the first globally important bird area for Iowa, and it’s all because of a very small blue and white bird with a lovely song called the Cerulean Warbler.&nbsp; Bird Biologist with Iowa DNR Bruce Ehresman says it’s the largest important bird</p><p></p><p>conservation area in the state with about 135 thousand acres….</p><p>A dedication of the state’s first globally important bird area takes place May 31<sup>st</sup> at the Yellow River State Forest headquarters.</p> Mon, 19 May 2014 22:45:31 +0000 Julie Englander 40888 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa's globally significant bird area Total Lunar Eclipse http://iowapublicradio.org/post/total-lunar-eclipse <p></p><p>Iowans can join others across North America to view an astronomical phenomenon very early Tuesday morning. &nbsp;Professor of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Iowa Steven Spangler says a total lunar eclipse will begin at one am and last for about an hour and half…</p><p></p><p></p> Sun, 13 Apr 2014 13:43:02 +0000 Julie Englander 39061 at http://iowapublicradio.org Total Lunar Eclipse Rusty Blackbird Blitz in Iowa http://iowapublicradio.org/post/rusty-blackbird-blitz-iowa <p>Although the current weather may not feel like spring is near, many birds are already beginning to migrate. And that includes the Rusty Blackbird. But the species is declining. And that is where the Rusty Blackbird Spring Migration Blitz comes in. It’s a bird count of sorts.&nbsp; The event’s Iowa coordinator Chelsea Underwood says there are several ways to identify the bird….&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; For more information go to www.rustyblackbird.org. Or, contact your local bird-watching group.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Sun, 02 Mar 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Julie Englander 36968 at http://iowapublicradio.org Rusty Blackbird Blitz in Iowa Iowa's real "Monuments Man" http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowas-real-monuments-man <p>Winterset is known as the birthplace of John Wayne, but the town also claims real life hero and art conservator George Stout who rescued hundreds of pieces of art work from being destroyed by the Nazi’s during World War Two.&nbsp; Stout is profiled in the book, Monuments Men, and a film of the same name starring George Clooney, opened this weekend across the country. Winterset Public Library director Nancy Trask says when he was younger George Stout was quite an actor…</p><p></p><p></p> Sat, 08 Feb 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Julie Englander 35988 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa's real "Monuments Man" Meet D1: The Decorah Eagle http://iowapublicradio.org/post/meet-d1-decorah-eagle <p>She’s known as D1. She hatched about three years ago, one of the offspring of the now famous Decorah eagles that have been followed over the internet by thousands of viewers. But D1 is special, and it’s in the way she travels. Executive director of the Raptor Resource Project Bob Anderson spoke with IPR’s Julie Englander. He says after she fledged, they outfitted D1 with a solar powered transmitter.</p><p></p> Sun, 20 Oct 2013 18:45:05 +0000 Julie Englander 30850 at http://iowapublicradio.org Meet D1: The Decorah Eagle Girls on the Run coach and mentor Kelly Teeselink http://iowapublicradio.org/post/girls-run-coach-and-mentor-kelly-teeselink <p></p><p>Iowa City Girls on the Run coach and mentor Kelly Teeselink today (Saturday) is running the North Face fifty Mile Endurance Challenge in Wisconsin. It's&nbsp;forested trails and steep hills hundreds of feet up. She says she’s fit&nbsp;to take on&nbsp;endurance races but three years ago she was not. After graduating from college she was unhealthy and had gained weight…</p><p>http://www.girlsontheruniowa.org/</p><p></p> Sat, 14 Sep 2013 13:23:57 +0000 Julie Englander 29092 at http://iowapublicradio.org Watching out for Bald Eagles http://iowapublicradio.org/post/watching-out-bald-eagles <p></p> Sun, 27 Jan 2013 14:10:59 +0000 Julie Englander 14097 at http://iowapublicradio.org Watching out for Bald Eagles ISU historian included in Burns' Dust Bowl documentary. http://iowapublicradio.org/post/isu-historian-included-burns-dust-bowl-documentary <p></p><p>An Iowa State University historian and expert on the 1930s dust bowl consulted on filmmaker Ken Burns’ newest documentary, which airs tonight and tomorrow night on PBS.</p><p></p><p>Professor and chair of history at ISU Pamela Riney-Kehrberg is featured in the film, she says she assisted to ensure the film’s historical accuracy…</p><p></p><p>Ken Burns' The Dust Bowl, airs tonight and tomorrow night on PBS</p> Sun, 18 Nov 2012 19:44:12 +0000 Julie Englander 10931 at http://iowapublicradio.org ISU historian included in Burns' Dust Bowl documentary. Hob Nailed Boots Irish theatre troupe http://iowapublicradio.org/post/hob-nailed-boots-irish-theatre-troupe <p>At the invitation of Iowa’s Poet Laureate Mary Swander, who is of Irish ancestry, the theatre troupe, Hob Nailed Boots of Renvyle, Ireland,&nbsp; is visiting the state giving dramatic recitals from works about the Aran Islands, the Irish famine, and immigration. We reached the troupe’s Sean Coyne from his home in Renvyle.&nbsp; Coyne says audiences are in for an emotional experience…</p><p>Hob Nailed Boots Theatre Tour of 3 Plays</p><p>Performed by Sean Coyne and Tegolin Knowland, written by Eamon Grennan</p> Sun, 14 Oct 2012 14:50:48 +0000 Julie Englander 9356 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa Young Birders http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowa-young-birders <p>Iowa Young Birders is a new program to get kids outside and develop their interest in birds.&nbsp; Executive director Carl Bendorf says the nonprofit is a first of its kind in the state.</p><p>www.iowayoungbirders.org</p> Sat, 25 Aug 2012 16:07:14 +0000 Julie Englander 6928 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa Young Birders Prehistoric Mammoth Bone Discovery http://iowapublicradio.org/post/prehistoric-mammoth-bone-discovery <p>A prehistoric mammoth bone was discovered sticking up out of the ground on an Oskaloosa farm last weekend days after a heavy rain. Archeologist Marlin Ingalls of the Office of the State Archeologist says the femur or thighbone, which measures four feet, may be just the tip of a rare find.&nbsp; The location of the farm is being kept confidential to protect the site.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 09 Jun 2012 20:47:17 +0000 Julie Englander 2954 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa Cane Corsos compete at Westminster http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowa-cane-corsos-compete-westminster Sun, 12 Feb 2012 12:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25993 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa Cane Corsos compete at Westminster http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowa-cane-corsos-compete-westminster-0 Sun, 12 Feb 2012 12:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 26123 at http://iowapublicradio.org E1 FIT (Everyone fit) http://iowapublicradio.org/post/e1-fit-everyone-fit Sat, 28 Jan 2012 11:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25946 at http://iowapublicradio.org Luv Ya Like A Sister http://iowapublicradio.org/post/luv-ya-sister Sun, 15 Jan 2012 12:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25909 at http://iowapublicradio.org Grazing goats work to restore biodiversity http://iowapublicradio.org/post/grazing-goats-work-restore-biodiversity Sat, 10 Dec 2011 11:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25820 at http://iowapublicradio.org Poweshiek Skipper, a once common Iowa butterfly may be extinct http://iowapublicradio.org/post/poweshiek-skipper-once-common-iowa-butterfly-may-be-extinct Wed, 16 Nov 2011 07:15:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25754 at http://iowapublicradio.org D1 Decorah juvenile eagle goes the distance http://iowapublicradio.org/post/d1-decorah-juvenile-eagle-goes-distance Sun, 06 Nov 2011 12:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25730 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa woman swims English Channel for cancer http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowa-woman-swims-english-channel-cancer Sat, 15 Oct 2011 10:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25677 at http://iowapublicradio.org Pianist Roger Williams remembered by Drake University chair of Music http://iowapublicradio.org/post/pianist-roger-williams-remembered-drake-university-chair-music Sun, 09 Oct 2011 11:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25657 at http://iowapublicradio.org First UI womens' basketball coach Lark Birdsong honored http://iowapublicradio.org/post/first-ui-womens-basketball-coach-lark-birdsong-honored Sat, 01 Oct 2011 10:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25638 at http://iowapublicradio.org Pelican Days http://iowapublicradio.org/post/pelican-days Sun, 18 Sep 2011 11:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25585 at http://iowapublicradio.org Iowa City girl conducts radon project http://iowapublicradio.org/post/iowa-city-girl-conducts-radon-project Sat, 27 Aug 2011 12:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25477 at http://iowapublicradio.org Carver Hawkeye Arena renovation http://iowapublicradio.org/post/carver-hawkeye-arena-renovation Sat, 06 Aug 2011 10:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25380 at http://iowapublicradio.org Carver Hawkeye Arena renovation http://iowapublicradio.org/post/carver-hawkeye-arena-renovation-0 Sat, 06 Aug 2011 10:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25574 at http://iowapublicradio.org Resettling in Iowa from Iraq http://iowapublicradio.org/post/resettling-iowa-iraq Sat, 16 Jul 2011 23:45:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25316 at http://iowapublicradio.org Resettling in Iowa from Iraq http://iowapublicradio.org/post/resettling-iowa-iraq-0 Sat, 16 Jul 2011 23:45:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25446 at http://iowapublicradio.org Capture an Iowa Minute http://iowapublicradio.org/post/capture-iowa-minute-0 Sat, 16 Jul 2011 12:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25440 at http://iowapublicradio.org Capture an Iowa Minute http://iowapublicradio.org/post/capture-iowa-minute Sat, 16 Jul 2011 12:30:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25313 at http://iowapublicradio.org Nigerian stories in Iowa http://iowapublicradio.org/post/nigerian-stories-iowa Sun, 10 Jul 2011 00:45:00 +0000 Julie Englander 25315 at http://iowapublicradio.org